top of page

Essential oils for balancing seven chakras

Updated: Jun 1, 2022

The concept of Chakras, originated in ancient India, refers to the inner energy focal points corresponding to major organs and nerve clusters. They are also associated with distinct feelings and emotions. According to Susanne Schutz, a Chinese Metaphysics Master in Hong Kong, some people are likely to be prone to chakra-blocking, depending on their Bazi Charts. Chakras should remain open and be aligned to let energy flow smoothly within to maintain our physical and mental well-being.

In this blog, I will discuss the seven primary chakras that run from the sacrum to the crown of the head along the spine; and suggest essential oils that can help unblock each of them.

#1 - Root Chakra (Muladhara)

Root Chakra, symbolized by the a four-Petalled lotus in pink or red color, represents our foundation, and is associated with survival, safety, and stability.

Location: Base of the spine

Element: Earth

Organ / system: Spine, skeletal system, immune system

Psychological aspect: Security, safety, stability

Bazi and Root Chakra: Link

Essential oils: Buddha Wood, Frankincense, Sandalwood, Vetiver

#2 - Sacral Chakra (Svadhishthana)

Sacral Chakra deals with our emotional identity, creativity, self-gratification, desires, sexual intimacy, and relationships – basically the ability to live a life full of pleasure and joy.

Location: Above the pubic bone or about two inches below the navel

Element: Water

Organ / system: Reproductive and urinary systems

Psychological aspect: Sense of abundance, well-being, pleasure

Bazi and Sacral Chakra: Link

Essential oils: Jasmine, Clary Sage, Rose, and Ylang Ylang

#3 - Solar Plexus Chakra (Manipura)

Solar Plexus Chakra is our source of energy, strength, and confidence.

Location: Between the navel and the bottom of the rib cage

Element: Fire

Organ / system: Stomach and digestive system

Psychological aspect: Self-worth, self-confidence, self-esteem

Bazi and Sacral Chakra: Link

Essential oils: Orange Sweet, Bergamot, Ginger, Cardamon

#4 - Heart Chakra (Anahata)

Heart Chakra connects the upper spiritual chakras with the lower bodily chakras. An open, unblocked Heart Chakra represents qualities of love, compassion, connection, relationship, and healing.

Location: Center of the chest (above the heart)

Element: Air

Organ / system: Heart and respiratory system

Psychological aspect: Love, affinity, compassion, trust, passion

Bazi and Heart Chakra: Link

Essential oils: Benzoin, Rose, Sandalwood, Ylang Ylang

#5 - Throat Chakra (Vishuddha)

Throat Chakra, associated with voice, represents our capabilities of communication and self-expression.

Location: Near the throat

Element: Ether

Organ / System: Thyroid gland, neck vertebrae, esophagus, and mouth

Psychological aspect: Self-esteem, self-expression

Bazi and Throat chakra: Link

Essential oils: Bergamot, Eucalyptus, Frankincense, Peppermint

"Accept what is; Let go what was; Have faith in what can be."

#6 - Third-Eye Chakra (Ājñā / Agya)

Third-eye Chakra is the center of perception, consciousness, and intuition. It represents our higher understanding - the ability to see beyond the physical/material self/world.

Location: Between the eyebrows

Element: Light

Organ / System: Brain, eyes, ears, nose, and the neurological system

Psychological aspect: Focus, determination, wisdom, open-mindedness

Bazi and Third-Eye Chakra: Link

Essential oils: Rosemary, Orange Sweet, Patchouli, Cedarwood Atlas

#7 - Crown Chakra (Sahasrara)

Crown Chakra, associated with space – the nothingness - connects us with the universe, and represents our spiritual enlightenment and dynamic thinking. The awakening of Crown Chakra allows the inward flow of the infinite wisdom from the divine.

Location: Top of the head

Element: None - Crown Chakra is pure spirit

Organ / System: Brain and nervous system

Psychological aspect: Gratitude, compassion, acceptance, unity

Bazi and Crown Chakra: Link

Essential oils: Cypress, Frankincense, Sandalwood, Vetiver

The importance of balancing chakras

Balancing and aligning of the chakras are among the key factors in maintaining our physical, psychological, and spiritual well-beings. Balancing means getting it just right - not too much and not too little. If you are looking to balance all seven chakras collectively, a mix of several essential oils –for example, a combination of JAN"s Delight and Calm blended oils – can be used beneficially.

I hope this blog will be helpful to those interested in a brief description of each chakra and the related essential oil that can help balance each of them.

127 views0 comments


bottom of page